Nightmare

I took a walk in the woods in the evening. The sound of bollywood music reverberating in the valley tickled my fancy, one could not make out from where the euphony unleashed. I never knew I will come to discern myself in such distant, never seen before nor heard of place. Being lonely never seemed right, loneliness scratches painful memories. I chose to run away and I discovered the society of Solitude. One has to lose oneself before he can discover layers inside, learn how to belong to self and feel the richness.

Then why was I curious to know whether any new guests arrived on the gate last night?

Why should I be curious to meet any stranger? Why concede my blissful solitude? What if they toss my rebound?

Before I staged escape, I had chronic dream apprehending me for some time, I had talked to Figaro about it; lost in desert, I was wandering through the mounds of beige sand, feet sinking deep in sand grains, unwieldy as though shackled, face furrowed, torso baggy, sand grains glued to the blistered skin, unable to find way out, ceaselessly crossing one terrain after the other, unforgiving ferocity of sun had robbed me of sense of direction, it schemed and chased me, rays bent to fashion chimera of the heavens, I pursued to no end, unaided with no habitat in sight, no flora-fauna, not even desolate camel-thorn in sight, scurrying for days and weeks, so far unscathed, but nervous that desert heat and dehydration might leave me unconscious and sand storm will bury me, who knows there might well be many such beneath these hard-nosed, hushed hillocks, desert vultures might make a feast of me.

Or worse, no traces left, no story told.

2 thoughts on “Nightmare

Care to give a feedback?